Calibrating the Zhiyun Crane Gimbal

screen-shot-2016-09-23-at-1-42-21-pmBalancing a camera lens combination like the Panasonic Lumix GH4 and Lumix G X Vario 12-35mm f/2.8 on the Zhiyun Crane is a simple task which even most novices can accomplish in a matter of minutes. Nevertheless, when the gimbal is exposed to extreme changes in temperature, it is still possible that during operation, the camera does not remain horizontal. In this case, it is advisable to calibrate the gimbal wirelessly via Bluetooth using either the Zhiyun Assistant app for mobile devices or the Zhiyun Gimbal Tools app for desktop computers. Here, I’m going to discuss how to use the desktop app, as I found the tiny images on my iPod next to impossible to see.

First, download and install the USB driver, found at the Zhiyun Tech website. Next, download the Tools App and open it. Now, connect the gimbal with the USB cable provided and turn on the power switch, but do not start the gimbal (use the USB located on the handle near the joystick, not the one on the tilt axis motor). The camera does not need to be mounted on the gimbal during calibration. The app should recognize the gimbal. Begin by clicking on the calibration bar at the bottom of the box. You will be prompted to lay the gimbal down in six different positions. Images will appear, showing exactly how to rest the gimbal on a flat surface, and when calibration for each one is complete, a new image will appear. A large check will appear once all six positions have been calibrated. Remove the USB cable, turn off the gimbal and restart. Wait ten seconds, and the camera should now be horizontal. The entire process takes no more than a few minutes to complete.

ss1 ss2 ss3 ss4 ss5 ss6 ss7

If, after completing calibration, the camera is still not level, you can fine tune the pitch and roll axes using the Zhiyun Assistant app. Connect to the app via Bluetooth, then go to the Stabilizer Settings menu. Pitch and roll can be adjusted in increments from +5 to -5 degrees.

img_1829

8 thoughts on “Calibrating the Zhiyun Crane Gimbal

Add yours

  1. hello, I went to the assistant app. changed the power from weak to middle, than saved and when I returned it was again to weak. I can save other settings except the power. I have the 154 ver of the assistant. what can I do? I have zhiyun crane with the new firmware 1,8kg. or in the shop they say so.

  2. Hi, please excuse my comment if it’s something that I missed from the post. But is it possible to set a specific pace for pan and tilt action of the device? Thanks

  3. Hello jonpais from Germany, this is an excellent step by step instruction for the crane calibration.
    Especially the images are more than useful, because from the tiny images on my smart phone app I can’t see almost anything. The correct positions for the different calibration steps are essential for a successful calibration.
    There is only one question left for me. You have shown in total 5 calibration steps, step 1 and steps 3 to 6 – step but step 2 is missing. Any reason for it? Could you provide the picture for step 2? Thanks

    1. Thanks, Wolfgang, I only realized I’d forgotten to upload step two afterward. If I have a chance, I’ll post the missing picture. Enjoy your Crane.

      1. I’m sorry, Jon, I don’t want to bother you, but is it possible to get the picture for step 2? As I’m highly encouraged by your perfect instruction to make a perfect crane calibration I do miss the pic for step 2. Without this step the whole calibration wouldn’t work because the tiny app pics are almost useless. Thanks for your indulgence. Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑